SIL Certification

Safety Integrity Level (SIL Certification) & Performance Level (PL Certification)

Safety integrity level (SIL) is defined as a relative level of risk-reduction provided by a safety function, or to specify a target level of risk reduction. In simple terms, SIL is a measurement of performance required for a safety instrumented function (SIF). The requirements for a given SIL are not consistent among all of the functional safety standards. In the functional safety standards based on the IEC 61508 standard, four SILs are defined, with SIL 4 the most dependable and SIL 1 the least. A SIL is determined based on a number of quantitative factors in combination with qualitative factors such as development process and safety life cycle management.

Companies operating in industrial environments are responsible for reducing safety risks to an acceptable level, including hazards caused by malfunctions of complex systems. Functional safety failures can result in serious liability claims. IEC 61508 is the standard governing functional safety worldwide as well as the derived standards: EN ISO 13849-1, IEC 62061, ISO 26262 and the EN 5012X series. As functional safety demands continuous pour augmenter, safety instrument system designers for electrical / electronic and programmable electronics (E / E / PE) must integrate safety certified products (sensors, logic units and actuators) into Their systems and require manufacturers to Provide certificates / assessments In view to IEC 61508 / 61511.

In ‘SILCertification’ we certify your product in accordance with IEC 61508 and all relevant sector-specific safety standards. We provides independent safety assessments during the product development lifecycle & we conduct assessments though a combination of on-site inspections and documentation review, which result in an independent safety assessment report.

What we do

  • Assessment of project documentation
  • Assessment of product design & development
  • Assessment of business processes
  • Assessment of verification& validation activities
  • Analysis and Studies of Operational Safety 
    Assessment of Failure Modes, Effects and Diagnostics Analysis (FMEDA) analysis 
  • audit / diagnosis Regarding the IEC 61508.
  • SIL certificate is issued by CDG after completion of all above mentioned steps

Any Questions? We’d l ve to hear from you

 Subscribe to newsletter